EACWP Flash-Fiction Contest 2020 (Verdict)

Verdict of the contest

After the closing of the III edition of the European Flash Fiction Contest, a total of 1200 texts were received over the call period from the January, 30th to April, 1st.  2020. All the texts  —originally written in the different 13 European participating languages— were submitted to a first reading round composed of different members of each of the 13 participating EACWP institutions. This preliminary jury read and judged the texts in their original national language and selected one winner per institution in this first round of the contest.

The 13 finalists’ texts were translated into English in order to be submitted to a second reading round composed of a jury headed by only one representative per institution. This final EACWP jury was comprised of the following members: Franco Chiaravalloti (Escola d’escriptura), Andrea Holland (University of East Anglia), Conceição Garcia (Escrever Escrever), Rudie Verbunt (Creatief Schrijven), Daniel Kubec (The University of Creative Communication), Magnus Eriksson (Linnaeus University), Maja Lucas (University of Southern Denmark), Mariana Torres (Escuela de Escritores), Marie-Pascale Lescot (Aleph-Écriture), Tom Verstappen (ArTEZ), Peter Waugh (Vienna Poetry School / sfd), Vesa Lahti (Jyväskylä University) and Tal Bachini  (Sadnaot Habait).

Taking Eurovision’s contest as a model, the voting was distributed according to the following ranking points:

12 points for the first place,

10 points for the second,

8 points for the third,

7 points for the fourth,

5 points for the fifth.

After compiling and counting all the votes, the jury of the EACWP European Flash Fiction Contest came to a consensus about the following results:

The fifth place in the competition, with 46 points, goes to the text entitled Summer Camp, by Yael Statman from Israel.

The fourth place in the competition, with 68 points, goes to the text entitled Picture Postcard Workers, by Rafael Olivares Seguí from Spain.

The third place, with 72 points in the competition, goes to the text entitled Unedited manuscript, by Aurora Tàrrega Gàlvez from Spain (Catalonia).

The runner-up in the competition, with 78 points, goes to the text entitled Captured Moment, by Elske van Lonkhuyzen from Belgium (favoured by 3 extra-points from the popular votes).

Ultimately, the jury declares as the 2020 winner of the III edition of the EACWP European Flash Fiction Contest, with 89 points, Motorway Service Stop, by Anna Lu from Germany.

The European winner will be awarded a cash prize of 600€ and the European runner-up will get a cash prize of 400€.

The EACWP would like to thoroughly thank the valuable and voluntary work of the jury, the translators and the different participating institutions for their engagement over the full process of the contest and its different stages. Ultimately, we would like to congratulate the winner, along with all the finalists and the 1200 participating authors for the inspiring response and enthusiastic participation, especially, this year, over the worldwide difficult sanitary circumstances. Thank you all for responding to the challenge of continuing writing and dreaming Europe seriously more than ever.