About us

English | French | Español | Deutsch | Italiano | Português | Dutch | Catalá | Czech | Euskera | Norsk | Suomi

European Association of Creative Writing Programmes


The aim of the Association is to strengthen ties between all persons and institutions interested and involved in the field of creative writing in Europe. It focuses on the organisation and promotion of: academic and pedagogical exchanges, collaborative projects, international events, conferences and symposiums, and the dissemination of calls, projects, initiatives, debates and varied information related to teaching, learning and practising creative writing.

Areas of interest

The activity of the EACWP focuses on all forms and possibilities of creative writing. Namely: CW teaching, learning and practising, theory and academic research, design of CW curricula, mapping of CW in and outside of Europe, literary criticism, literary translation, publishing, multimedia and digital implementation.


Projects focus, essentially, on activities such as visiting fellowships, students and teachers exchanges, collaborative projects and courses, workshops, conferences, festivals and publications. Non-members may also participate.


There are four different types of membership: institutional membership (open to any European institution that offers a regular programme in creative writing or literary translation), individual membership (open to any inviduals that work in the field of creative writing or literary translation in Europe), non-European observer membership (open to any non-European institution or individual that work in the field of creative writing or literary translation) and honorary membership.


The highly successful International Congress of Creative Writing Programmes, organized by the German Literary Institute Leipzig (in ass. with Konsthögskolan Valand/Göteborg, Literární Akademie/Prague & schule für dichtung/Vienna) in March 2005, showed both the need and the desire for international cooperation in this area to be established in continental Europe. Josef Škvorecký Literary Academy (Prague) has therefore decided to initiate the launching of the European Network of Creative Writing Programmes (ENCWP). Between 2005 and 2009, five ENCWP symposiums took place in Prague.

In September 2010, during its 6th symposium in Madrid, ENCWP adopted its new statutes, consolidating five years of work under the emerging name of EACWP.


Each year the EACWP celebrates the annual symposium. One of the institutional members of the association works as coordinator, and all the representatives from each institution meet in a European city. The Symposiums are open to current members or, in some cases, supporting candidates on the way of becoming new members. During these symposiums, lectures and workshops are held, but also intense working meetings take place in order to create further mutual projects. The next symposium: 2017, Vienna.

Pedagogical conferences

As a part of its commitment to promote pedagogical interchanges among its members and with other institutions, the EACWP has organized three pedagogical conferences in 2012 (Paris), 2014 (Finland) and 2016 (Turin). The next conference will take place in Brussels in 2018.


The EACWP has 28 institutional members from 16 different countries and about 20 individual members. It has an agreement of mutual membership with NAWE (National Association of Writers in Education, United Kingdom).

Institutional members

Aleph-Écriture (Paris), Casa de Letras (Buenos Aires), Les ateliers d ́écriture Elisabeth Bing (Paris), Creatief Schrijven (Antwerp), Escola d ́escriptura (Barcelona), Escuela de Escritores (Madrid), Escrever, escrever (Lisboa), Institut für Sprachkunst (Vienna), Scuola Holden (Turin), Jyväskylä University, Le Coin Bleu (Brussels), Oriveden Opisto (Orivesi), Nansen Skolen (Lillehammer), schule für dichtung (Vienna), University of East Anglia (Norwich), Universitat Pompeu Fabra (Barcelona), University of Southern Denmark (Kolding), University of East London, Kingston University (London), The Open university (UK), The South Gate Society (Denmark), Ondokuz Mayis University (Turkey), Dactylus (Netherlands), Cardiff University, ArtEZ (Netherlands).

EACWP board

Javier Sagarna (President, Escuela de Escritores), Gale Burns (Vice-President, Kinsgton University), Harriet Nachtmann (Secretary, Vienna Poetry School), Simone Fenoil (Scuola Holden), Ana Guerberof (Escola d’Escriptura Ateneu), Louise Muller (Aleph-Écriture), Risto Niemi-Pynttäri (Jyväskylä University), Erik Vanhee (Creatief Schrijven), Frank Tazeelar (ArtEZ).